7/14

Uncertainty. I would rather place a bet where the odds are stack against me than to flip a coin where my chances are 50/50. I can plan ahead knowing I would lose. I would know what to do next. I would know where to go after. That is just the type of person I am.

I arrived at Denton about noon to make it to our 1:30 appointment for a potential house with my potential roommates. The appointment the mysterious girl made for us. Sadly to say, she never showed up. She never texted us. We lost contact with her completely. We were never given an address of our potential house, so we were in the dark, Alice and I.

We had to bounce back. That is all we can do for now. I felt time pushing me like a wave in an ocean, pushing me closer and closer to the crude shore where the kids go to overdose, and the point of used needles stick to your feet like splinters everywhere you go. Alice called a few places. Not available. Not available. Too much. Too far. Denton is a small place our options are very limited.

There was one place that gave us an answer we wanted to hear. The owner, Glenn, was at the house and told us to meet him there, so he can give us a tour and hand us applications to fill out. He told us that there was already someone living there and that they had two rooms available. When we arrived we were greeted by a girl in sky blue pajamas. She had a pixie haircut and her blonde bang contrasted her dark hair color. She introduced herself as Rachel. Her ambience was careless and cool, as if she didn’t care what you thought about her, but at the same time she was shy. But why would you be shy with PJs like that?

Glenn walked out the bathroom and Rachel lazily returned to her room. We proceed with the formal greeting with handshakes and names. His hand felt dry which concerned me considering he exited the bathroom a second ago. He gave the tour. The house wasn’t big it was fairly small, but cozy, large enough to house three college students. For a small house it had a large backyard, large enough to envision parties or even a second house of the same size. Behind our large backyard was a path that lead to a creek, and I envisioned a peaceful quite moment where I was happily wasting time; for in that moment, time would be my friend again. We had no neighbors around us, the only other building next to us was a shabby house that was for rent. We had space. We were free to do what we wanted when we wanted. But what about the price, how much is the rent? $400. It’s too good to be true, I thought. I already knew I wanted it, and I could tell Alice wanted it too. We took the applications, and promised him to return the next day with them filled out.

We went to look at a few other places, but we were already hooked on what we wanted. Nothing can match what we saw, not in price or look. We wanted that house. Before Alice and I left Denton, we called Glenn and told him that we wanted that place bad and said we will give him everything he needed on the spot tomorrow the application and deposit fee. He said okay. I went home relieved. I finally found a place to call home.

Leave a Reply

