A Week Of News And A Brief Update.

            I have not written one word this week. Not a line of poetry or a piece of fiction. I did have an idea to write something on Monday but told myself I’ll work on it Tuesday. That was a failure. Before I had the chance to write a sentence I headed towards town to see my friends. The day ended with me drinking 7 pints of a beverage that has 7% alcohol. It sent my mind into a daze for most of the night. I started asking myself if I was where I wanted to be in life. I tried drowning out the thought with more beer, but after each glass the question got louder.

            The next day I was too mentally fucked to even think about anything. All the political and social issues that was on my mind Tuesday morning was scrambling inside my head, along with the question that lingered over me Tuesday night. I spent most of my Wednesday in bed with the news channel on in the background that was chattering about yesterday’s news. I’ve cured myself from the hangover but it almost feels like my creativity is brain dead at the moment. All my ideas killed by the question I have yet to answer.

So since I am incompetent to think of something to write I thought of summing up the news that I am aware of that happen this week:

Gay Marriage Declared Legal Across The US.

            Friday became a victory for love when the Supreme Court voted in favor for same-sex marriage, the law forbidden states to ban the right for same-sex couples to get married. Even if a state has banned same-sex marriage it will be overruled.

            Justice Anthony Kennedy wrote, “No union is more profound than marriage, for it embodies the highest ideals of love, fidelity, devotion, sacrifice, and family… [The challengers] ask for equal dignity in the eyes of the law. The Constitution grants them that right”

History was made on June 26, 2015

The Affordable Care Act wins at the Supreme Count.

            In a 6-3 verdict the Supreme Court ruled in favor of Obamacare, on Thursday. The challengers of Obamacare argued that the way the law was written restricted the subsidies to only state-established marketplaces, but it was just bad law writing. They intended for both state and federal to have access to the subsidies.

            If Obamacare was ruled against, millions of people would be without health insurance and a new plan would need to be drawn up. Truth be told, the republicans were quietly relieved that Obamacare stayed. It means less pressure off the party and more time to focus on their presidential campaigns.

Donald Trump Troubles.

            On Wednesday, I found out that Donald Trump is in second place in the polls for the republican’s presidential nominee, with Jeb Bush leading. The only question that I have to ask others and myself is why? And How?

            Univision, a Spanish language network that is aired in America, has dropped Miss USA pageant, a showed set to air on July 12, over the remarks Trump said about Mexican people. As a result he has plan to sue the network for breaking a contract that is joint between Trump and NBC Universal.

Obama Comments On Racism.

            Obama appeared on Marc Maron’s Podcast WTF. During the conversation racism was brought up and Obama said, “Racism, we are not cured of it. And it’s not just a matter of it not being polite to say the word nigger in public. That’s not the measure of whether racism still exist or not. It’s not just a matter of overt discrimination. Societies don’t, over night, completely erase everything that happened 200 to 300 years prior.”

It was a strong statement about racism, but cable new media ignored the message and focused on Obama use of the word “nigger”.

The Battle For The Confederate Flag

            In the wake of the Charleston shooting, people have fought to take down the Confederate flag from the capitol in South Carolina and in other states while others, the conservatives, fight to keep the flag up.

            Protestors argue that the flag represents hate and racism. That it’s a part of history that the US should not be proud of. The conservatives argue that it is a part of history that should not go away.

            Companies like Wal-Mart, Ebay, Amazon, Sears, Etsy, Google Shopping, and Overstock.com have banned the sell of Confederate merchandise. Even Apple has taken action by removing apps the feature the Confederate flag.

            It’s a movement that will be debated for awhile, but it is looking in the favor of the protestors as governors and large companies agree that the flag needs to be taken down.

            The big news to come out of this week is obviously the legalization of gay marriage. It is indeed a victory for love. The past 3 weeks I felt that our nation was getting grimmer and grimmer by the day. And although the legalization of same-sex marriage won’t fix all our problems it does brighten up the world just a little.

            And as for the question that haunted me Tuesday night and Wednesday morning. Am I happy where I’m at in life? No, but I still have time and the will to change that. If our nation can change then so can I. I’m optimistic about these kind of things.

Leave a Reply

